M Media may decide to lock individual files on your account. Locking files is a manual action taken by M Media for the safety, integrity, and continuity of your data.
Files may be locked for multiple reasons:
– They are not meant to change or be modified after publishing (e.g. contracts)
– Changing the file will cause unexpected changes down the line (e.g. your file is referenced somewhere else publicly)
If you believe your file has been incorrectly locked or no longer needs to have a lock applied to it, send us an email.
Usually yes, unless we receive a request to unlock it and believe that honouring it would not cause adverse effects.
A locked file can not be deleted, have its name or details changed, or be made public if private (or vice-versa). It can still be viewed in accordance with its public/private status.
Your account may have been locked. A locked account automatically also locks all files associated with that account.